Alabama Captains
Alabama’s captains for the Auburn game were Nico Johnson, Damion Square and Barrett Jones. Alabama won the toss and elected to receive the opening kickoff.

Series Notes
With the Alabama win in the 77th Iron Bowl, the Crimson Tide is now 42-34-1 against Auburn.

Alabama’s 42-0 halftime lead is the largest halftime lead by either team in the history of the Iron Bowl series. The previous largest halftime lead achieved by either team was a 34-point margin by Auburn in 1957, a 34-0 halftime lead on the way to a 40-0 Tiger victory.

General Notes
With the win the Crimson Tide claimed the SEC Western Division title for the eighth time.

With the win over Auburn, this Alabama senior class has put together an overall record of 47-5 over the last four seasons. That victory total is a new University of Alabama record over a four-year period and 47 wins are currently more than any other team from a BCS conference.

In his sixth season at Alabama, head coach Nick Saban has led the Crimson Tide to a 16-8 record in November. Four of the eight losses came in 2007.

With the win over Auburn Alabama is now 60-3 when leading at the half under head coach Nick Saban.

Today’s paid attendance was 101,821.

Offensive Notes
Alabama defeated Auburn 49-0. It marks the seventh time this season the Crimson Tide has scored 40 or more points.

Alabama scored on its first seven drives of the game. It marked the second game in a row the Crimson Tide has scored on its first five possessions.

Alabama is 48-0 since the start of the 2008 season when the Tide rushes for at least 150 yards.

Alabama scored 42 first half points against Auburn. It marks the second game in a row the Crimson Tide has put up 42 points in the first half.

Alabama has scored at least one rushing touchdown in all but one game this season. The Tide has scored two or more in nine games, including seven in a row.

Alabama running back Eddie Lacy eclipsed 1,000 yards rushing on the season. It’s the 16th 1,000 yard rushing season in school history. He finished the night with 131 yards to move his season total to 1,001.

Alabama running backs Eddie Lacy and T.J. Yeldon became the first rushing tandem for the Crimson Tide to score 10 or more touchdowns on the ground each since 2008 (Glen Coffee & Mark Ingram). Lacy now has 14 touchdowns while Yeldon has found the endzone 10 times.

Amari Cooper had his third 100-yard receiving game (109) while Eddie Lacy eclipsed 100 yards rushing for the third time (131) this year and for the fifth time for his career.

Defensive Notes
Alabama posted its fourth shutout on the season. The four shutouts in a single season are the most for the Tide since the 1979 season.

Three of Alabama’s shutouts came in games at home, the most since 1979 and the seventh time in the Tide’s history to post three shutouts in home games (1934, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1979 and 2012).

Under head coach Nick Saban, the Crimson Tide has held opponents to 10 points or less 40 times since the start of the 2007 season. Alabama has shutout opponents 10 times during the Saban tenure.

During head coach Nick Saban’s last 66 games at the Capstone, the Crimson Tide defense has held the opposing offense to less than 200 yards of total offense 26 times, including five times in 2012.

Alabama senior safety Robert Lester picked off his 14th career pass. The 14 interceptions rank tied for fifth in the Alabama career annals. His 183 career interception return yards rank eighth all-time.

Alabama entered the locker room at the half with a 42-0 lead over Auburn. The Crimson Tide has now kept opponents off the scoreboard six times in the first half this season.

Special Teams
Senior Jeremy Shelley is still the only kicker in the nation yet to miss an extra point or a field goal in 2012. Thus far, Shelley has hit all 60 of his extra point attempts and all 10 of his field goals.

Record Watch
Career Touchdown Passes
TD Name Years
47 John Parker Wilson 2005-08
44 AJ McCarron 2010-pres.
41 Brodie Croyle 2002-05

Single Season Touchdown Passes
TD Name Year
25 AJ McCarron 2012
20 Greg McElroy 2010

Single Season Touchdown Receptions
TD Name Year
10 Al Lary 1950
9 Dennis Homan 1967
8 Al Bell 1985
8 Amari Cooper 2012

Next Game
Alabama will play Georgia in the SEC Championship game. The two teams will meet in the Georgia Dome on Dec.1., with the game set to be televised at 3 p.m. CT on CBS.

One thought on “HIGHLIGHTS: Video & Notes of Alabama 49 Auburn 0 in 2012 Iron Bowl”

  1. I loved the 2012 Iron Bowl even more than I thought I would.

    My new favorite number is zero.

    Roll Tide.

Comments are closed.