ATLANTA—The No. 2 Alabama Crimson Tide won its 22nd Southeastern Conference Championship by beating No. 1 Florida, 32-13 with a balanced attack that gave the Tide its first league title since 1999. Alabama amassed 490 yards of total offense against a Florida defense that had been limiting its opponents to an average of 230 yards per game this season.

Junior quarterback Greg MElroy, who threw for 239 yards and a touchdown on 12 completions, was named the game’s most valuable player. Sophomore running back Mark Ingram rushed for 113 yards on 28 carries including three rushing touchdowns. He is now the Tide’s all-time single-season rushing leader with 1,542, surpassing Bobby Humphrey’s 1986 record of 1,471 and becomes the first Alabama rusher to go over 1,500 yards in a season. His three touchdowns tied an SEC Championship Game record. Ingram also caught two passes for 76 yards.

4 thoughts on “PHOTOGRAPHS: Alabama wins SEC Title”

Comments are closed.