We take time to honor All-SEC and All-American players on the field, here are a few top academic performers from the Alabama Crimson Tide.

From UA’s Media Relations:
TUSCALOOSA — A total of 45 University of Alabama student-athletes, representing football, soccer and volleyball, were named to the 2008-09 Southeastern Conference Fall Academic Honor Roll, the SEC Office announced earlier today.

“We are very proud of these student-athletes and their hard work each semester, both on and off the field,” said Jon Dever , Alabama Assistant Athletics Director for Student Services. “It is a tribute to their hard work.”

The Crimson Tide football team had 22 players earn the conference honor. Alabama finished the season with a 12-2 overall record and No. 6 national ranking. The SEC Western Division champions played in the school’s second BCS Bowl game with a visit to the 2009 All State Sugar Bowl.

The complete list of football players includes: Evan Cardwell (Management), Drew Davis (Consumer Sciences), P.J. Fitzgerald (Management), Terry Grant (Human Development), Bobby Greenwood (Management), Charlie Higgenbotham

(Interdisciplinary Studies), Rashad Johnson (Criminal Justice), Charlie Kirschman (Management), Rolando McClain (Consumer Sciences), Greg McElroy (Marketing), Will Oakley (Marketing), Colin Peek (Finance), Taylor Pharr (Public Relations), Chris Rogers (Consumer Sciences), Ali Sharrief (General Studies), Drew Bullard (Mechanical Engineering), Drew Cummings (Pre-Major Studies), Justen Santana (Finance), Brian Selman (Management), Sam Snider (Pre-Business), Leigh Tiffin (Management) and Jacob Vane (Consumer Sciences).

Coach Judy Green’s volleyball team had eight Academic Honor Roll selections, which equaled the most of any team in the SEC this past season, tying with Arkansas .

The volleyball list includes Mary Catherine Aune (Advertising), Lindsey Buteyn (Advertising), Calli Johnson (Psychology), Lauren Martin (Interdisciplinary Studies), Alyssa Meuth (Human Environmental Sciences), Amy Pauly (Public Relations), Liz Salstrand (Public Relations) and Jennifer Weber (Management and Marketing).

The soccer team had 15 members of the Academic Honor Roll under first-year head coach Todd Bramble.

The honorees were Alexandra Butera (Telecommunications), Kailey Corken (Spanish), Jessica Deegan (Computer Engineering), Victoria Frederick (Pre-Dental), Kara Gudmens (Human Development and Family Studies), Hailey Hull (Food and Nutrition), Cara Kelly (Advertising), Kelsey King (Chemical and Biological Engineering), Karen Lansden (Commerce and Business), Elizabeth Grace Lawson (Public Relations), Carly Mygrants (Public Relations), Callie Pike (Exercise Science), Colleen Posey (Human Development and Family Studies), Brooke Rogers (Commerce and Business) and Ashley Scheidt (Health Care Management).

The 2008-09 SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2008 spring, summer and fall terms. The criteria includes: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.