SEC statement on Fairley’s penalty

Via UA:

A STATEMENT FROM THE SEC OFFICE REGARDING A RULING IN THE AUBURN-ALABAMA FOOTBALL GAME
In response to a request for a pool reporter at Friday’s Auburn-Alabama game, the following is a statement from Rogers Redding, SEC Coordinator of Officials, regarding a judgment call, which led to an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty of Auburn’s Nick Fairley in the second quarter:

“The penalty was due to a violation of NCAA Rule 9-2-1.a.1(d), which states, in part, that any delayed, excessive, prolonged or choreographed act by which a player (or players) attempts to focus attention upon himself (or themselves) is an unsportsmanlike conduct foul.”