Alabama Football: T.J. Yeldon dazzles at A-Day; A-Day postgame notes & stats

The Alabama Crimson Tide has a new running back in its fold that should provide some excitement in the 2012 football season. T.J. Yeldon ran for  88 yards and caught 5 passes for 91 yards.

Here are the official post game notes from the University of Alabama Media Relations. Stats follow below that. We’ll have some analysis and commentary on A-Day later, so check back.

2012 GOLDEN FLAKE A-DAY GAME Saturday, April 14, 2012 Bryant-Denny Stadium – Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Running back T.J. Yeldon accounted for 179 all-purpose yards to lead the White team over the Crimson team, 24-15, in the 2012 Golden Flake A-Day Game before a crowd of 78,256 at Bryant-Denny Stadium and a CSS television audience. Yeldon caught a game-high 5 receptions for 91 yards and 1 touchdown and rushed for 88 yards on 16 carries. Trailing at halftime, 9-3, the White team took control in the third quarter behind a pair of Phillip Sims touchdown passes – a 44-yarder to Chris Black and a 50-yard strike to Yeldon. Yeldon’s performance earned him the Dixie Howell Most Valuable Player of the Game Award while linebacker Adrian Hubbard of the White team earned the Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the Game Award as he garnered a team-leading 7 tackles, including 3 quarterback sacks (20 yards) and 4 tackles for loss (22 yards).

The official estimated attendance at today’s game was 78,526 at Bryant-Denny Stadium (capacity: 101,821) on Saturday, the fifth-largest attendance mark for an A-Day football game.

The top attendance totals for Alabama’s A-Day Game.
Year Attendance
2011 92.310*
2007 92,138
2010 91,312
2009 84,050
2012 78,526
2008 78,200
1988 51,117
1994 46,700
2006 40,000
1995 37,323
2002 37,000
2004 35,000
2001 35,000
*A-Day Record.

The following Alabama football players were honored for the performance throughout Spring Football Practice with the following awards bestowed by the Crimson Tide coaching staff:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – CJ Mosley, Chance Warmack

Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – DJ Fluker, Michael Williams, Nico Johnson, John Fulton

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Jesse Williams

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Anthony Steen

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Dee Milliner

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – Jalston Fowler

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Kevin Norwood

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – Adrian Hubbard

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award – Carson Tinker, Quinton Dial

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Jeremy Shelley, Kelly Johnson

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Brent Calloway, Christion Jones, Jeoffrey Pagan, Tre DePriest, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Vinnie Sunseri, Brian Vogler, Ed Stinson, Cody Mandell

Mal Moore Leadership Award – Damion Square, AJ McCarron

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award – Barrett Jones, Robert Lester

Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award – Adrian Hubbard

Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player of the A-Day Game Award – T.J. Yeldon

The University of Alabama football team and head coach Nick Saban wrapped up spring practice today with the 2012 Golden Flake A-Day Game at Bryant-Denny Stadium. Alabama opened spring practice on Friday, March 9, and held 14 practices through Thursday, April 12, leading up to today’s A-Day game. The Crimson Tide also held two scrimmages here in Bryant-Denny Stadium this spring (March 31 and April 6) in preparation for today’s game.

The annual Walk of Fame ceremony took place Saturday at 12:15 p.m. at Denny Chimes. The 2011 permanent team captains – safety Mark Barron, linebacker Dont’a Hightower and running back Trent Richardson – had their hand prints and foot prints placed in cement at the base of Denny Chimes.

The format for the A-Day game was much like a normal game, with a few minor variations primarily regarding the game clock. The game consisted of four 15-minute quarters with a running clock. The clock stopped only following scoring plays, penalties, and changes of possession. Regular clock rules were used during the final minutes of the second quarter and the fourth quarter.



FIRST DOWNS……………….       14       16

RUSHES-YARDS (NET)…………    25-66    19-63

PASSING YDS (NET)………….      218      304

Passes Att-Comp-Int………..  30-19-0  42-29-3

TOTAL OFFENSE PLAYS-YARDS…..   55-284   61-367

Fumble Returns-Yards……….     1-21      0-0

Punt Returns-Yards…………     2-10     5-56

Kickoff Returns-Yards………     3-88     6-72

Interception Returns-Yards….     3-56      0-0

Punts (Number-Avg)…………   8-45.5   8-42.8

Fumbles-Lost………………      1-0      1-1

Penalties-Yards……………     1-15     3-15

Possession Time……………    28:26    32:24

Third-Down Conversions……..  2 of 12  3 of 12

Fourth-Down Conversions…….   1 of 1   1 of 1

Red-Zone Scores-Chances…….      0-0      1-1

Sacks By: Number-Yards……..     3-20     5-32


RUSHING: White-Yeldon, T.J. 16-88; Howell, Ben 3-1; Ely, Phillip 3-minus
1; Sims, Phillip 3-minus 22. Crimson-Hart, Dee 5-44; Fowler, Jalston 8-22;
McCarron, AJ 6-minus 3.

PASSING: White-Ely, Phillip 10-18-0-83; Sims, Phillip 9-12-0-135.
Crimson-McCarron, AJ 29-42-3-304.

RECEIVING: White-Yeldon, T.J. 5-91; Jones, Harrison 4-29; Black, Chris
3-61; Calloway, Brent 2-18; White, DeAndrew 2-1; Faciane, M. 1-12; Woodson, D.
1-4; Howell, Ben 1-2. Crimson-Bell, Kenny 5-86; Norwood, Kevin 4-53; Hart, Dee
4-32; Williams, M. 4-20; Fowler, Jalston 4-14; Jones, C. 3-48; Vogler, Brian
3-46; McAlister, N. 1-3; Bierbower, J. 1-2.

INTERCEPTIONS: White-Clinton-Dix, H. 1-30; Sunseri, Vinnie 1-29; Lester,
Robet 1-minus 3. Crimson-None.

FUMBLES: White-Woodson, D. 1-0. Crimson-Williams, M. 1-1.
SACKS (UA-A): White-Hubbard, Adrian 3-0. Crimson-Pagan, Jeoffrey 2-0;
Love, Wilson 1-0; Dial, Quinton 1-0; Dickson, X. 1-0.

TACKLES (UA-A): White-Hubbard, Adrian 6-1; Stinson, Ed 2-4; Sunseri,
Vinnie 4-1; Fulton, John 4-0; DePriest, Trey 3-1; Johnson, Nico 2-2;
Clinton-Dix, H. 3-0; Lester, Robet 3-0; Belue, Deion 3-0; Atchison, J. 2-1;
Square, Damion 1-2; Williams, Jesse 0-2; Crowder, Padden 1-0; Milliner, Dee 1-0;
Black, Chris 1-0. Crimson-Mosley, C.J. 7-3; Patrick, Tana 4-3; Williams, J. 4-2;
Dixon, Travell 4-2; Dial, Quinton 2-3; Pagan, Jeoffrey 2-2; Love, Wilson 2-1;
Bell, Kenny 2-0; Lee, Dillon 0-2; Perry, Nick 0-2; McCarron, AJ 1-0; Dickson, X.
1-0; Washington, J. 1-0; Fanning, L. 1-0; Ivory, Brandon 0-1; Bush, Hunter 0-1.