Alabama confers season awards

Alabama Holds Football Awards Banquet (courtesy of UA)

BIRMINGHAM — The Alabama football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday night at The Cahaba Grand Conference Center in Birmingham, Ala.

Alabama head football coach Nick Saban addressed an audience that included members of the team, coaching staff, administration and support staff following the awards session in which he recapped the 2010 season and stated the goals for the upcoming bowl game.

The complete list of award winners is as follows:

Iron Man Award:
Dee Milliner, Josh Chapman, Courtney Upshaw, and Michael Williams

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award:
Mark Ingram, Barrett Jones, Brad Smelley, Trent Richardson, Cade Foster, and Julio Jones

Outstanding Senior Scholar:
Greg McElroy and Drew Bullard

Unsung Hero Award:
Dre Kirkpatrick, Earl Alexander, Chavis Williams, and Dequan Menzie

Outstanding Defensive Performer Award:
Mark Barron and Donta Hightower

Up-Front Award:
Marcell Dareus and Courtney Upshaw; and from the offense Barrett Jones and William Vlachos

Most Inspiring Player:
Mark Barron

Defensive Achievement Award:
Robert Lester, C.J. Mosley, and Josh Chapman

Offensive Achievement Award:
Chance Warmack, Marquise Maze, and Trent Richardson

President’s Award:
Nick Gentry, Luther Davis, Darius Hanks and James Carpenter

Special Teams Award:
Brandon Gibson, Will Lowery, and Trent Richardson

Defensive Player of the Year:
Dont’a Hightower and Mark Barron

Offensive Player of the Year:
Greg McElroy and Mark Ingram

Pat Trammell Award:
Preston Dial and David Ross

Jefferson County Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award:
Jeremiah Castille

Most Valuable Player:
Julio Jones

Captain Awards:
Mark Barron, Don’t’a Hightower, and Greg McElroy