SEC officials blow call; help Lane Kiffin & Vols

Did SEC officials blow a call that helped Tennessee? According to some information I was provided, the answer is YES. Dumbass Lane Kiffin was attacking officials, but the officials helped his team have a chance in the final seconds thanks to a violation of the free kick rules. Watch the video here, rules explanation follows. Then chime in if you think the rules apply or don’t.


Thanks for sending the video Denny Chimes.

According to what I was told, Julio Jones was illegally touched because the ball never touched the ground before he was blocked. There are some rules provided below that explain the manner of touching, and how this could be considered one of two different fouls.
Rule 6
SECTION 1. Free Kicks,
Free Kick Formation
ARTICLE 2
g. No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball [S19].

What is the penalty for this?
PENALTY—Live-ball foul. Five yards from the previous spot, or five yards from the spot where the subsequent dead ball belongs to Team B, or from the spot where the ball is placed after a touchback [S18] (A.R. 6-1-2-VII).

How does a ball become eligible for a team to block? Here is the answer?

Touching and Recovery of a Free Kick
ARTICLE 3. a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:
1. It touches a Team B player (Exception: Rules 6-1-4 and 6-5-1-b);
2. It breaks the plane of and remains beyond Team B’s restraining line (Exception: Rule 6-4-1) (A.R. 2-11-5-I); or
3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B’s restraining line.
Thereafter, all players of Team A become eligible to touch, recover or catch the kick.

Jones was beyond the 40 when he was blocked. The ball had not touched the ground, nor a member of Alabama’s team. How did CBS replay miss this? Attention Mr. Gary Danielson and others at CBS.

ALSO, this could be considered kick catching interference. Here is the rule

SECTION 4. Opportunity To Catch a Kick
Interference With Opportunity
ARTICLE 1. A player of the receiving team within the boundary lines attempting to catch a kick, and so located that he could have caught a free kick or a scrimmage kick that is beyond the neutral zone, must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick (A.R. 6-3-1-III, A.R. 6-4-1-V and A.R. 6-4-1-X).

a. This protection terminates when the kick touches the ground, when any player of Team B muffs a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone, or when any player of Team B muffs a free kick in the field of play or in the end zone (Rule 6-5-1-a) (A.R. 6-4-1-IV).

b. If interference with a potential receiver is the result of a player being blocked by an opponent, it is not a foul.

c. It is an interference foul if the kicking team contacts the potential receiver before, or simultaneous to, his first touching the ball (A.R. 6-4-1-II, III, VII and
IX). When in question, it is an interference foul.

PENALTY—For foul between the goal lines: Receiving team’s ball, first down, 15 yards beyond the spot of the foul for an interference foul [S33]. For foul behind the goal line: Award a touchback and penalize from the succeeding spot. Flagrant offenders shall be disqualified [S47].

So, what do you think? Did the officials make a mistake? Is Lane Kiffin an even bigger dumbass since he didn’t notice this?
[poll id=”35″]