Saban finalist for coach of the year

Here is the official release:

Coach Saban Finalist for Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award
TUSCALOOSA – Alabama head football coach Nick Saban is one of seven finalists for the 2009 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, the Football Writers Association of America announced Wednesday.

Saban is joined by Texas coach Mack Brown, Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson, Cincinnati’s Brian Kelly, Oregon’s Chip Kelly, TCU’s Gary Patterson and Boise State’s Chris Petersen on his year’s list.

Five of the head coaches have led their teams to an undefeated season and four of the finalists will go head-to-head in post-season bowl games, when No. 1 ranked Alabama will play No. 2 Texas in the BCS National Championship Game on Thursday, Jan. 7, 2010 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., and Boise State and TCU will square off in the Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 5.

Saban was named the 2009 SEC Coach of the Year earlier on Wednesday after leading the Crimson Tide to a 13-0 record and the school’s 22nd SEC championship. In three years at Alabama, Saban has compiled a 32-8 (.800) overall record and has led the Tide to back-to-back SEC Western Division titles. The Crimson Tide has won 26 of its last 28 games, dating back to the 2007 season.

He was named the 2009 Associated Press SEC Coach of the Year earlier this week; marking the third time in his career (2003, 2008 and 2009) he has won that honor.

Of the finalists, only Saban has previously won the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. He won it last season after leading the Crimson Tide to a 12-2 overall record and SEC Western Division Championship. He also won the award at LSU in 2003.

The FWAA coaching award is named after the late Eddie Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach in the history of college football. The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award will be announced and honored at a reception on Jan. 5 in Newport Beach, Calif., in conjunction with the Citi BCS National Championship Game.