Alabama AD Mal Moore recognized with award for leadership, dedication to college athletics

Here is the official release naming Alabama AD Mal Moore winner of the John L. Toner Award.

The National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame announced today that University of Alabama director of athletics Mal Moore has been named the 2012 recipient of the John L. Toner Award. The Toner Award is presented annually by the NFF to an athletic director who has demonstrated superior administrative abilities and shown outstanding dedication to college athletics and particularly college football.

“Mal’s leadership of Alabama football has been impeccable,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Crimson Tide’s success on the gridiron is undeniable, but his leadership can be felt throughout the University of Alabama and the NCAA as a whole. I can’t think of anyone more deserving of this award.”

Moore has presided over Alabama athletics since 1999 and his leadership has resulted in five NCAA team championships and 18 Southeastern Conference (SEC) team championships and numerous individual national and conference crowns for the Crimson Tide during his tenure. Moore’s commitment to excellence has also extended to the classroom as Alabama has had 62 Academic All-Americans under Moore’s leadership. Under Moore’s watch, Alabama has produced 18 NCAA Post Graduate Scholarship winners, 10 NCAA Top VIII selections, two Campbell Trophy finalists and three NCAA Woman of the Year finalists.

Moore currently manages a $101 million annual budget and a varsity sport program that consists of 21 men’s and women’s varsity teams. He envisioned and oversaw the expansion of Bryant-Denny Stadium in 2006 and 2009, pushing the venue’s capacity to 101,821, which ranks fifth nationally.

More than $220 million has been raised for construction of new facilities and enhancement of existing athletics facilities. Under Moore’s leadership, Alabama has erected new stadiums for soccer, softball and tennis; new facilities for women’s basketball and volleyball; a new golf clubhouse; and improved facilities for every other UA sports team, in addition to the renovation of the Bill Battle Center for Athletic Student Services, the Mal Moore Athletics Building, Coleman Coliseum and the Bryant-Denny Stadium expansions.

During Moore’s tenure, the Crimson Tide football team has won two national championships (2009 and 2011), posted six 10-win seasons, a 5-4 bowl record, appearances in four Bowl Championship Series (BCS) bowl games and SEC championships in 1999, 2009 and 2011. In 2010, Moore was among five finalists for the Sports Business Athletic Director of the Year.

Moore will be honored at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 4 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

Previous recipients of the NFF John L. Toner Award include:

2011 – No Honoree
2010 – Robert E. Mulcahy III (Rutgers)
2009 – Jim Weaver (Virginia Tech)
2008 – Gene Smith (Eastern Michigan, Iowa State, Arizona State, Ohio State)
2007 – Jeremy Foley (Florida)
2006 – DeLoss Dodds (Texas)
2005 – Jack Lengyel (Fresno State, Missouri, Navy)
2004 – Vince Dooley (Georgia)
2003 – John Clune (Air Force)
2003 – Andy Geiger (Brown, Penn, Stanford, Maryland, Ohio State)
2002 – Bill Byrne (Oregon, Nebraska, Texas A&M)
2001 – Milo R. “Mike” Lude (Washington)
2000 – Frank Broyles (Arkansas)
1999 – Jake Crouthamel (Syracuse)
1998 – Doug Dickey (Tennessee)
1997 – John L. Toner (Connecticut)

About The National Football Foundation:
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit