Alabama on satellite radio?

One of our regular readers asked: If Alabama football games will be on XM or Sirius this coming season? I can’t find that info anywhere on the net.

A few phone calls and emails, and we found the answer: Alabama will once again be on Sirius radio.

According to Sirius’ press rep: “SIRIUS is still partnered with the University of Alabama as well as other schools in the SEC including Auburn, Florida, South Carolina and Vanderbilt. We will be airing Crimson Tide football and basketball games in the fall and spring and our agreement gives us the exclusive rights to the local flagship radio broadcasts.”

Of course, if you have XM or want to buy XM there are still options. The press rep for XM is a Crimson Tide fan, and quickly responded to our question about XM and UA: “Currently, the rights for Alabama, Auburn, and Vanderbilt games are not available. They are great schools, we’d love to carry them, but the rights aren’t available right now. However, when Alabama plays teams that are carried on XM (such as the Tide’s 2007 opponents Arkansas, Georgia, Ole Miss, Tennessee, LSU, and Mississippi State), XM can carry those games.”

Advertisement: (Story continues below)

General info about Sirius: SIRIUS airs more NCAA sports than any other radio outlet, providing play-by-play from more than 150 college teams around the nation from conferences including the Pac 10, SEC, Big Ten, Big 12, Big East, Big West, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Missouri Valley, Ohio Valley, Southern, Sun Belt, West Coast, Western Athletic, Colonial Athletic Association, Horizon League and Ivy League.

SIRIUS is the Official Satellite Radio Partner of Alabama, Army, Auburn, Baylor, Colorado, Florida, Iowa State, Kansas, Louisville, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma, Pittsburgh, South Carolina, Syracuse, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UCLA, USC, Vanderbilt and West Virginia.

General info about XM: XM recently signed a five-year agreement with the SEC to carry football and basketball games nationwide starting this fall. Currently, XM has the rights to carry games for seven SEC teams in 2007: Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi State, Ole Miss, and Tennessee. South Carolina will join XM in 2008, and Florida will join XM in 2009. XM will also carry the SEC football championship, every game of the SEC basketball tournament, the entire SEC baseball tournament, and other SEC sports. XM has three dedicated channels for SEC sports: XM channels 199, 200, and 201. These channels will carry play-by-play coverage, coach’s shows, and other SEC shows.